← 返回首页

Legal AI Pricing and Free Trials: What In-House Teams Actually Pay, and How to Model the Cost

Legal-AI pricing is less transparent than many software categories. The vendor pages checked for this article disclose pricing structures and trial terms, but not enough dollar information to calculate what an in-house team will actually pay. The defensible answer is therefore quote-specific, not a published “per contract reviewed” figure.

Verification stamp: Every vendor price and free-trial fact below was checked on 2026-10-04. Prices, offers and trial terms can change, so buyers must re-verify them on the vendor’s page before budgeting or proceeding with procurement. This is a dated pricing snapshot, not a product ranking.

What Spellbook, Ironclad and Evisort Disclose

Spellbook provides the clearest public description of the seat-based model. Its page says pricing is determined by “the number of team members on a license,” while directing buyers to book a demo and receive customized pricing. The page does not publish a dollar amount per seat, and the supplied evidence does not establish a negotiated price for any particular team. Its model is therefore based on licensed users rather than a published number of contracts reviewed. No Spellbook seat price or per-contract price should be inferred from the page. (Checked 2026-10-04; re-verify on the vendor page.)

Spellbook also states: “Start your 7-day free trial.” Its fuller explanation says lawyers and legal teams can try the product free for seven days to test features and workflows and see how the AI tooling affects their work. For larger organizations, extended trials may be available, and the page directs buyers to book a demo. “May be available” is important: the baseline stated offer is seven days, not a guaranteed extended trial. (Checked 2026-10-04; re-verify the trial length and availability on the vendor page.)

Ironclad uses a custom-quote model rather than publishing a comparable unit price. Its page says pricing is shaped by “your products, users, workflows, and growth” and offers a tailored quote. Buyers can select from contract lifecycle management, AI assistant and eSignature solutions. The page supplies no public seat rate, bundled price or per-contract figure. It supports a cost request based on scope and users, but not a reliable dollar comparison with another vendor before quotes are obtained. The page checked did not state a free trial or trial length. (Pricing and trial information checked 2026-10-04; re-verify on the vendor page.)

The Evisort pricing address resolves to a Workday contract-management product page describing Evisort AI as powered by Workday. No public price appears there, and the page checked does not state a free trial or trial length. This establishes only what the retrieved page disclosed; it does not establish Evisort’s actual selling price or prove that no trial exists elsewhere. (Checked 2026-10-04; re-verify with the vendor.)

Accordingly, the evidence does not support ranking these vendors by price. It does not disclose what an in-house team actually pays in dollars, and no seat price, discount or contract-level rate should be invented.

Which Vendors Offer an Expressly Stated Free Trial?

Spellbook is the only vendor in the examined source set with an expressly stated trial length: seven days. Its page also says extended trials may be available to larger organizations. The stated purpose is to test features and workflows, with a demo offered as the route to getting started. (Checked 2026-10-04; re-verify on the vendor page.)

The Ironclad and Evisort pages reviewed did not state a free trial. That is an absence of information, not evidence that either vendor categorically refuses trials. Their seven-day terms—or any trial length—must not be inferred from Spellbook. Buyers should obtain the current trial duration, eligible user population, included workflows and any conversion terms in writing. (Checked 2026-10-04; re-verify with each vendor.)

A trial can help a team examine its own documents and workflows, but it does not supply the missing production pricing. The trial result and the eventual quote should be recorded separately.

Why “Per Contract Reviewed” Is Not a Lookup Price

The sources do not publish a reliable per-contract unit for Spellbook, Ironclad or Evisort. Spellbook expressly links price to team members on a license. Ironclad uses a quote shaped by products, users, workflows and growth. The Evisort page exposes no figure at all.

A per-contract price would require a defined billing unit: what counts as a contract, which review stage is included, and how later versions or follow-up work are treated. None of the examined pages supplies that structure. Dividing a quote by an internal contract count can produce a useful allocated cost, but it does not turn that division into the vendor’s published unit price.

The model layer also needs separate treatment. Anthropic’s Claude 3.5 Sonnet announcement stated a general vendor price of $3 per million input tokens and $15 per million output tokens, alongside a 200K context window. These are general model prices, not legal-workflow prices and not per-contract prices. They illustrate token-based metering at the model layer, but the evidence does not connect those rates to Spellbook, Ironclad or Evisort. Buyers should not apply them to a contract unless a vendor supplies a defensible mapping from the relevant workflow to token use. (Anthropic pricing checked 2026-10-04; re-verify on the vendor page because this is not a legal-tool price.)

A Defensible Seat-Based Cost Model

Start with the vendor’s quote and billing period. Do not assume a monthly or annual cadence, and do not assume that every product has the same unit price.

For a quote that provides a per-seat amount, define:

If the vendor provides only a custom total, use that total rather than manufacturing a seat price. Ironclad’s published page indicates that the quote may also reflect products, workflows and growth. Ask for a written breakdown identifying how each quoted component changes with the proposed scope. Do not assume that Ironclad’s reference to “growth” means a particular number of contracts unless the vendor expressly defines it that way.

Next, measure internal usage over the same period:

The result is an allocation metric, not a vendor list price or a marginal price for one additional contract. It answers: “What portion of the quoted cost would we allocate to each contract our team expects to process?”

This distinction exposes the main weakness of seat pricing for a low-volume reviewer. If licensed-user cost remains constant while contract volume falls, dividing the same cost by fewer contracts produces a higher allocated cost per contract. A seat purchases licensed access; the examined pages do not say that it purchases a fixed allowance of contract reviews. The model therefore penalizes reviewers whose contract volume is low or irregular relative to their licensed user count.

For a team, calculate both pooled and reviewer-level views when licenses are assigned by reviewer. For each reviewer, divide that reviewer’s attributable seat cost by the contracts that reviewer handles. Keep the calculation consistent across current, expected and high-volume operating scenarios. The point is not to invent a future contract count, but to show how the internal allocation responds when volume changes.

What to Record Before Comparing Quotes

For each vendor, record the quote date, licensed users, included products, relevant workflows, growth assumptions, trial terms and every separately stated pricing component. Compare offers on the same scope and billing period. Keep vendor quotes separate from internal allocations, and do not convert an allocated contract cost into a claim that the vendor charges that amount per contract.

Finally, re-check every price and trial term. The public evidence establishes the pricing architecture—Spellbook’s user-based license, Ironclad’s tailored quote and Evisort’s lack of a public figure—but the actual dollars remain quote-specific. Any purchasing decision should use a current written quote rather than a per-contract number inferred from an unpriced page.